kids

Doctor’s Office 

I’m sitting here in the doctor’s office with my 11 year old son as he has these fine, red bumps that are itchy on his arms. So as we wait,  I’m watching the time as I want him to still make it to school for at least half a day as its the second last day of the school year before the christmas holidays. I really dislike having to come to the doctors as they take too long and I understand that they need to help each individual but I just wish there was a more efficient way to go about it.

I’m looking around and it’s my son and I, an older man, an older woman and a young woman with her young girl child maybe about a year old. As I sit here,  I think about how different we all are. The older man is Caucasian and is wearing glasses, jeans, gloves and a black jacket with a winter hat. He watches the young mother and child’s every move, enjoying the moments of their interaction, laughing out loud every now and then.

The young woman and child seems to be of an African background possibly Somalian. The mother wears a black jogging suit with red and white Jordan’s while the baby wears a grey and pink jogging suit with pink boots. They are making a lot of noise with their playful encounters making it hard not to stare at them.

The older woman sits on her cell phone with her head wrapped and a dark blue jacket, jeans and brown boots. She is having issues with her car tires as each time she talks on the phone its about her tires. She is leaving without seeing the doctor, she will rebook she says.

My son and I are of a Jamaican background. I’m in my early 30’s, with my micro locks all messy looking, I wear black tights with a brown sweater, a light burgundy jacket with another blue jacket in my hands and I’m typing on my cell phone to you guys. My son is Not wearing his school uniform pants, which I just realized now I’m mad,  Grrrr. He wears a roots black sweater over his uniform shirt and is watching a video on his phone.

We are all so different but yet we’ve found a common denominator – our doctor. Have you ever watched the movie “crashed”? I like that movie because it depicts us coming together for a purpose not just by a coincidence. So I sit here and wonder why did I have to come to the doctors today and see these 4 individuals, how have they affected my life somehow or how have I affected theirs?? What made us all choose this doctor to be our doctor? Do we all live in the same neighbourhood? Do we like the way he operates? I would like to know… Maybe one day I’ll have the courage to ask the question, why? But for now, I will sit here quietly just waiting for the doctor to see my son.

Have you ever wondered about why you had a certain interaction? If so, please tell me about it… Or am I just weird to even be thinking about this?

GOD WILLING

Leave a comment