kids

Christmas is Here Today But Gone Tomorrow

So we are 1 hour and 36 minutes into Christmas as I’m sitting down in my bed writing this. I know most people are letting their kids either already open their gifts or they let them open at least one. I did neither. We brought in Christmas by watching “The Land of the Lost“, had a late night dinner and read a story and just now off to bed. We left voice messages on whats-apps for the family and did some video calls. The plan for tomorrow is to be at a brunch for  11 am  and then my mom’s side of the family is having Christmas dinner at 5 pm (they told me 4 pm but I think that’s because they say I’m always late lol).

I attempted to pick up something little for the girls today at Wal-Mart but everything I had planned on was already sold out so I left empty-handed :(. Usually our Christmas’ are more fun-filled than this. We open one gift on Christmas eve and then in the morning we have a big breakfast, open half the gifts and then go somewhere for Christmas dinner, come back home and open the rest of the gifts. Kids always got what they wanted so it’s a big day for them and enjoyable for me to watch the smiles and excitement that were being executed. This year not so much… This year, I can’t wait for “Boxing Day” and it’s not because of the sales but just so I can skip over Christmas.

Christmas is here today  but gone tomorrow and so much money was spent. Credit cards were maxed out, bills were left behind and people literally may have left themselves broke until their next pay. All that for one day that comes every year and the next day we will look over our accounts and realize exactly how much was spent and bawl about it later. Is it worth the hassle? Since I never did it this year, I would say yes. Doesn’t make sense right?

Well let me explain… To see my kids’ excitement, smiles, jumps, happiness is worth the credit card debt, the unpaid bills, the crying about overspending. It’s worth the stress and penny pinching. It’s worth all the cons about Christmas just to know that I was the cause of my children’s happiness. There is a saying that goes, “You never know what you have until it’s gone.” Well this year, I truly found out EXACTLY what that saying means because I never knew to cherish me being the cause of my kids’ happiness until I wasn’t.

This isn’t a feeling, I want to ever experience again. I now know and will forever cherish the small moments of their happiness going forward. So this year, I want to Thank God that Christmas is here today but will be gone tomorrow because I need this sadness and disappointment within myself to disappear asap.

Thanks for listening/reading and although I don’t know if I should ask but I will anyways. Please click on that follow blog button, I’ll like to know I’m reaching people out here in this cyber world.

God Willing

Leave a comment